Skip to main content

EKU students receive Future Entrepreneur Executive Award

IDEA State U logo

Last week, several EKU student teams competed for three slots to represent EKU at the Idea State U statewide business plan and concept competition in the following categories.

  • Undergraduate Business Concept
  • Undergraduate Business Plan
  • Graduate Business Concept

The respective winning teams are U-Maps - David Worthington and Zachary Cantrell, Dark Panda - Benjamin Ayres-Kerr, and Bedside Clean - Ian C. Smith and Young Rock Hong.

Each student team member will receive the EKU - Future Entrepreneur Executive Award™.

The award co-sponsors are Kentucky Innovation Network @ EKU, Jos A Bank,  EKU PGA Golf Management, and the EKU Business & Technology Accelerator.

The team of advisors include Ms. Laura Barthel, Dr. Scott Dust, Dr. George Landon, Ms. Kristel Smith, and Ms. Amber Moreland.

The student teams will participate in the statewide Idea State U competition at Heritage Hall in Lexington on April 11-12. This is EKU’s first year of participation since 2011. The students are diligently working towards the development of their plans and concepts and want to start businesses based upon their ideas. They are hopeful that this competition will provide a level of start-up funds and money to further IP protection and technology development.

The EKU students will compete against student teams from Murray State University, Western Kentucky University, University of Louisville, Kentucky State University, Northern Kentucky University, University of Kentucky, Morehead State University, University of Pike, and Kentucky Community & Technical College System.

Published on April 10, 2014

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/